History and Scope

The series of HPLC Symposia started in 1973 and currently the symposium is held at least annually. It is organised in alternating years in locations in North America and in Europe. In addition, meetings are held in places outside of these territories, especially in Asia.

The International Symposium on High Performance Liquid Phase Separations and Related Techniques is an international forum for scientific discussion of the methods of high performance liquid chromatography in its various forms, along with the complementary separation techniques such as electrophoresis, electrochromatography, field-flow fractionation, supercritical fluid chromatography and hyphenated techniques, such as LC-MS and CZE-MS. The field of microfluidics or lab-on-a-chip is also included.

At the HPLC 2011 Budapest Symposium all kinds of application areas relevant to the use of liquid phase separations as well as fundamental studies on advances in separation theories will be covered. Special emphasis will be put on current research areas characterized by innovative development. The HPLC Symposia are definitely valuable resources for analytical chemists, biochemists, molecular biologists, and those in the separation sciences seeking practical solutions.

Year Location Chair(s)
1st 1973 Interlaken, Switzerland Professor Simon
2nd 1975 Wilmington, USA Dr. Kirkland
3rd 1977 Salzburg, Austria Professor Huber
4th 1979 Boston, USA Professor Karger
5th 1981 Avignon, France Professor Guiochon
6th 1982 Cherry Hill, USA Dr. Bardford
7th 1983 Baden-Baden, Germany Dr. Hupe
8th 1984 New York City, USA Professor Horváth
9th 1985 Edinburgh, UK Professor Knox
10th 1986 San Francisco, USA Dr. Majors
11th 1987 Amsterdam, The Netherlands Professor Poppe
12th 1988 Washington, USA Professor Guiochon
13th 1989 Stockholm, Sweden Professor Westerlund
14th 1990 Boston, USA Professor Karger
15th 1991 Basel, Switzerland Professor Erni
16th 1992 Baltimore, USA Professor Regnier
17th 1993 Hamburg, Germany Professor Unger
18th 1994 Minneapolis, USA Professors Bowers and Carr
19th 1995 Innsbruck, Austria Professor Lindner
20th 1996 San Francisco, USA Dr. Hancock
21st 1997 Birmingham, UK Professor Fell
22nd 1998 St. Louis, USA Professor Armstrong
23rd 1999 Granada, Spain Professor Gelpi
24th 2000 Seattle, USA Professor Yeung
25th 2001 Maastricht, The Netherlands Professor Poppe and Dr. Lingeman
2001 Kyoto, Japan Professors Tanaka and Terabe
26th 2002 Montreal, Canada
Professor Wainer
Nice, France
Professor Siouffi 
28th 2004 Philadelphia, USA Dr. Schure
29th 2005 Stockholm, Sweden Professor Westerlund
30th 2006 San Francisco, USA Dr. Frenz
31st 2007 Ghent, Belgium Professors Crommen and Sandra
32nd 2008 Baltimore, USA Professors Guiochon and Jacobson
33rd 2008 Kyoto, Japan Professors Otsuka and Tanaka
34th 2009 Dresden, Germany Professor Huber
35th 2010 Boston, USA Dr. Cohen
36th 2011 Budapest, Hungary Professor Attila Felinger
37th 2011 Dalian, China Professor Xu
38th 2012 Anaheim, USA Dr. Svec
39th 2013 Amsterdam, The Netherlands Professor Schoenmakers